3.8 C
New York

Mitchell Johnson Named Australian Cricketer Of The Year

Mitchell Johnson has won the Allan Border medal, Australia cricket’s player of the year award.Johnson, named man of the series after taking 37 wickets in Australia’s 5-0 Ashes victory,┬ábeat captain Michael Clarke to the award.Mitchell Johnson Getty

The bowler, 32, received 168 votes from umpires, journalists and his fellow players, beating Clarke by 12.

“It has been an amazing journey coming back from injury, having a lot of doubters out there,” Johnson said.

“I knew in my own heart that if I had that opportunity that I could make the most of it.”

Johnson was dropped for the Ashes in England last summer – where Australia lost 3-0 – after failing to take any wickets against India in Delhi in March. But he returned to form against Alastair Cook’s side.

Johnson was the leading wicket-taker across both teams, averaging just 13.97 and taking a wicket every six overs. He took 7-40 in the second Test at Adelaide as part of his overall 37 – the fifth highest haul in a five-Test Ashes series.

The left-armer also averaged 27.50 with the bat, including a vital 64 in the first Test at Brisbane.

Australia captain Clarke lost out after winning the overall award in 2012 and 2013, though he was voted Test Player of the Year for the third successive time.

George Bailey won one-day international Player of the Year and Aaron Finch received the Twenty20 international Player of the Year award.

Latest news
Related news